Just look into your heart my friend, that will be the return to yourself. The return to innocence

Post soundtrack: return to innocence by Enigma

What happened to innocence and finding yourself?

I remember a time when there was so much in this world I was protected from, so much I still had to learn.  There were things I was shielded from or banned to do because my parents wanted to protect my innocence.

Something I didn’t quite understand back then.  Sure I was a normal teenager who grew up sneaking cigarettes behind school and getting drunk on weekends.  But there was a certain safety net there as well.

The world has no filter anymore, there is nothing we are shielded from.  There is nothing that is too soon.   People are experiencing things I did at 18 by the time their 14.  The world is trying to move by too fast.  The 7 year itch has become the 3 year itch. Everything is just cut shorter and shorter the more options we have.  It’s so sad.

I’m quite sad to see that so many people give up the fight to search for who they really are, like women in this city.  By the time they are 25 all of them are almost clones of each other.  Same hair, make-up, plastic surgeon, clothing style.

You don’t know who you are at 25, but how are you going to find out if all you do is follow the mold of everyone else?

I was trying to have a conversation with someone who was 22.  She was really grown up, she could hold the conversation without a doubt. But at the same time I thought “you are too young to be living this lifestyle.”  Maybe because I didn’t get to fully enjoy that time in my life, I was in a rush to grow up.  It’s overrated.

Take your time people. Don’t be in such a rush to get somewhere and to be someone, build yourself.  Character takes time to build, I’m not even done yet.

I’m learning the beauty of trying to find innocence again in the small things, taking things in life slow.  Enjoying the moments without rushing.  You can see everything so much better when you slow down.

This entry was posted in aging, Bangkok and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just look into your heart my friend, that will be the return to yourself. The return to innocence

  1. You really make it seem so easy along with your presentation however I find this topic to be really something
    that I think I would by no means understand.
    It kind of feels too complex and extremely broad for me. I’m having a look
    forward to your next put up, I’ll attempt to get the cling of it!

Leave a Reply

